Use your vote wisely!

Hello Everyone,

Just a quick shout to all. I’m fairing well, and I pray that you are doing the same or better. Look like it’s going to be another good day, at least weather-wise. I was out this morning on the yard, which is part of my weekday routine, and enjoyed the morning fresh air and tempered sun. I usually run a few miles to start off, but since running another marathon this past weekend, I’m taking the week off (or a few days), so I’m just walking for the time being (I am doing wind sprints on Tuesdays and Thursdays). I love walking the track, so a few days off running won’t kill me.

As for the marathon, it turned out to be a nice day for running, even though it rained the day before. For whatever reason, though, it seemed a lot more taxing physically – and no (Uncle Kirk), turning 48 wasn’t the culprit (laugh). Think it had more to do with how I ran it than anything, because I was somewhat limited in running a faster pace as a result of my running partner having to endure knee/calf issues. Running at a slower pace is more demanding than an uptempo one. And me being me, if we’re in it together, like me and my running partners (I have two, but one chose not tro run), then I’m not at liberty to just speed off ahead of him/them. Instead, I run the pace that works for the both of us, an though I wanna takeoff so bad; I have lots of energy on the track. But anyway, we had a good time and finished well before the ending time. This was a half marathon we ran, but that day there was both the half and full marathon; only some of the guys. chose to run the full. No way was I prepared for the full they would’ve had to come with the stretcher. The half was rough enough. Saturday, by the way, was officially the end of the running season for us, but of course we’ll keep running for as long as weather permits. I have to say, too, my whole attitude has changed about running -initially I hated it, but at some point along the way I slowly thought better of my approach to it. Now my attitude is one of ‘winning’ whenever I run and/or workout. Essentially that’s what we do when we make the effort to maintain good health and prolong our lives –we win! So I’m about that in my life, especially at this stage. Now all I have to do is work on my atrocious eating habits 😦 Working on it…!

Went to a this week, put on by one of the more active organizations here at the prison. The play was called, ‘I am Hamlet.’ It’s a production produced and performed by inmates of considerable talents. The play itself, while abit long (twoj hours) turned out to be okay. I am always impressed with all the memorization of lines, and the ability to carry the roles out convincingly, which they did. It, of course, embodied abit of humor, which added some fun to the evening. It was something different. I always like different 🙂 They will actually be performing two shows for the public, one of which will be an audience of art bigwigs. I was invited to attend post-play, along with a few other artist, to show a couple pieces of artwork and mingle with the crowd. It’s sorta like a TEDX event, that I’ve attended before. And it’s always nice to get the chance to interact with people that you normally wouldn’t be around. Should be fun.

Well, that’s it for now, my peoples . Enjoy the coming Fall season. It’s actually my favorite time of year; beginning of the autumn season when the colors come to brighten everyone’s lives. Unfortunately it’s only a short window. I will be sure to take it all in as much as possible from this end. Til next shout, stay blessed out there. I know it’s not much to choose from, but make sure y’all get out to vote 🙂 Next time, y’all! Peace!
-me

About boden

This site is developed and maintained by the friends and family of Shawn Hawkins in order to publicise his case and win his freedom after more than 20 years in prison. He adds to it as often as he has news, roughly monthly.
This entry was posted in Shawn's blogposts and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment