Total Image Empowerment

Blog Fam,

Yes, I’m back already! Nothing major to report at the moment, just wanted to share with you about last week’s event I was invited to by the Deputy Warden. Didn’t know what to make of it initially because I had never heard of the program/event, which is called Total Image Empowerment (T.I.E.). I learned from the evening’s festivities that it was an organization that helps to empower young men who are being released so that their image would be on point when going back into society.  Like I said, Shawn 2017I’d never heard of it, but needless to say, I’m all for giving these young men a head start for what’s needed when they get back out there. They’ll get assistance with job interview clothes, lessons on job interviewing, and so on.

So okay, the evening included talks from two respective panels; panel of young men who just got out weeks ago and some who were about to be released. They each talked about their own experiences either getting out or when they do. The other panel were business professionals, two of which who had been incarcerated themselves at one time; they were speaking on practical matters regarding employment possibilities, etc.

I was there mainly to showcase my artwork, and interact with the guests, which I loved. It was actually one of the better events I’ve attended. There weren’t a ton of people there (inmates or guest – probably 80 people total). I enjoyed the size of it because it allowed for a lot more conversations to be had, and yes, I was running my mouth ( laugh). I had the best time, y’all. They were loving the artwork, too -mine and a couple of the other artist in attendance. And not to toot my own horn, but I did get the most traffic and conversation regarding my art :-). Yeah, ya boy did pretty good. I had more than a few inquiries about wanting to purchase some of my work. Unfortunately I had no website to send them for checking out more of my work and possible sales. Trust and believe, though, I am working on this; ironing out the kinks. Have to get a handle on some moving parts. I will definitely let you all know when I’m up and running.

But yeah, I received a lot of love over my work that day, and honestly adds to a measure of self-confidence. I’m far from the best, but I do love what art brings to my life, and I love the fact that I’m having the ability to have positive impact on people’s lives in this way. I’m excited about soon getting the opportunity to share some of my work with the rest of you and the world.

Okay, this is it for now. I am tired and ready to see what the next day holds for me. By the way, it’s running season, and today was a six mile marathon. It took a look at me, but it was conquered with ease. Next run is a three man relay; each man having to run four miles. I’m ready for it. Gotta stay winning when it comes to health; this goes for every other area of life. For now, let’s enjoy and be blessed by this Spring season. Y’all be good out there, and keep them prayers coming. Needing a breakthrough 🙂 Talk soon!

 

About boden

This site is developed and maintained by the friends and family of Shawn Hawkins in order to publicise his case and win his freedom after more than 20 years in prison. He adds to it as often as he has news, roughly monthly.
This entry was posted in Shawn's blogposts and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

