Stephanie Douglas pays a visit

Summer Bloggers,

I hope and pray you all are well out there and have been enjoying your summer so far(?). I am well, myself (minus the annoying aches and pains that insist on being present in my life). I am also appreciating the summer so far; even from where I am. Have barely even set myself to complaining about the heat so far (you know, usual summer grumblings about whatever). It’s something I’m always working on ๐Ÿ™‚ Well, itโ€™s been a while since last time, but things have been slow, so nothing really to report. I have kept busy, but itโ€™s been my usual busy – although lately lots of repairs being done around here which is interfering with my being able to paint on a regular basis. Normally I’m painting daily, but until things get straightened out around here I’m only getting in the art room whenever. Speaking of art, though, I am happy to say, it won’t be long before my art will be available to the public to checkout. I’m in the process of having everything put in place now. I think I said this once before, but bear with me, it’s coming.
What else is going on…?! Another marathon, which I will have run by the time this message reaches you. Hopefully I will have survived, and you’re reading this it’s safe to conclude I made it (laugh). It’s a half marathon, and the last of a set of mandatory runs if we are to qualify for being able to order exclusive sneakers at the end of the running program. I’m running because I enjoy it (not always the case), but the option is a plus, I suppose. Anyway, to all my fellow joggers/runners, stay winning out there because itโ€™s something that’ll help keep you alive and well.
This past week I had the pleasure of gifting someone with her portrait. It was a young lady, Stephanie Douglas, who not so long ago played with the Harlem Globetrotters. She’s now a motivational speaker, and was invited in to speak and do some exhibition drills. Well my Recreation Coordinator commissioned me to do the painting. That was a little challenging from the beginning for two reasons: the reference pic that was given to me was of a terrible quality, and secondly, there was a time crunch, and to even make matters worse, the art room has been closed off and on the whole time. But guess what?! Your guy made it happen anyway ๐Ÿ™‚ Funny story to this, too. The day Stephanie was suppose to be here, the craziest thing happened. Now mind you, the painting is meant to be a surprise gift to her from the staff here. So check this out. Around 5pm I’m sitting at the phone, gym shorts and wifebeater on, attempting to make a phone call that won’t go through. In the course of this, in comes the Rec Co-ordinator and he’s having with him, guess who? Yep, Stephanie Douglas, her mom, and, I believe, either her uncle or brother. She was wearing basketball gear and carrying two basketballs, one under each arm. She’s coming through the door with a big personality and teasing with some of the guys, myself included, seeing as though I’m always having something to say (laugh). Well, the RC comes over to me and asks if he could show them my cell; he’s taking them on a quick tour of the place, which happens a lot actually -people coming through on tours. So I say yes to him wanting to show her my cell; my cellie was laying down relaxing at the time. So my cell is right there, and he opens the door for her to take a look in, and I’m outside the door talking with her mom and the guy. Next thing you know she’s all the way in my cell and talking with my cellie, Matharu, a short, funny looking Indian guy with a thick accent. Right at the moment it hits me…THE PAINTING I DID OF HER, WHICH IS SUPPOSED TO BE A SURPRISE, IS SITTING ON MY SHELF!! YIKES!! At this point I’m cringing, hoping like crazy that while she’s in my cell she isn’t seeing this painting of her. I mean, how weird would it be to be standing in some random prison cell and seeing a big 16″ by 20″ painting of yourself (laugh). Thank God she didn’t see it, though. I was sweating bullets during those few moments (laugh). Anyway, fast forward to the end of the event, and I was able to present her with the gift. Needless to say, she was caught off guard and on the verge of tears. She gave me the biggest hug and thanks. Of course, I had the biggest smile in the gymnasium (laugh). Everyone loved the work, too. They took a pic of the two of us holding the painting. I’m working on getting a copy of that to share with you. Anyway, it was great seeing everyone’s reaction. That’s part of the reward as a painter, being able to move people in such positive ways, and that’s priceless. And yes, am looking forward to some of your reactions to my art once I get it out there ๐Ÿ™‚

But anyway, that’s about it for now. I am going to leave you to your summer, and will touch back soon. Stay blessed out there.

-me

About boden

This site is developed and maintained by the friends and family of Shawn Hawkins in order to publicise his case and win his freedom after more than 20 years in prison. He adds to it as often as he has news, roughly monthly.
This entry was posted in Shawn's blogposts and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Stephanie Douglas pays a visit

  1. Hilary says:

    Lovely to hear that story. One of my most precious possessions is a wonderful surprise portrait Shawn painted from a photo of my lovely husband, not long after his death. He has captured the essence of my husband, Norman, in the portrait, and I speak to it/him every day ๐Ÿ™‚ I am delighted that more people will soon be able to enjoy Shawn’s wonderful talent!

Leave a Reply

