Bouncy Castle Temptations

My Blog Fam,

Yes, another instalment of an unjust circumstance, or in Soap Opera speak, , “As The World Goes.” No, seriously, I hope that you have been out there enjoying your summer so far. Not sure how much of it we have left, what, with the weather being as crazy and unpredictable as it can sometimes prove to be. My summer has gone fairly well, and while I could complain about a lot, of course, I’m choosing instead to be grateful…in general. I’m always wondering how you all out there are spending your days from season to season, especially summer when weather permits the most activity. I’m sure some of you are taking full advantage of your days. Well, good for you, because I’m trying to do the same from my end.

As always, I’ve been keeping busy, myself, with all things positive/productive. Last week I was asked to help out with an event called, ‘My Child and I’ Day, where a select group of qualified guys are able to have their kids come for spending some quality time with them. There’s a different theme to it every year -this year it was carnival, so there was a whole carnival style setup for the kids, including one of those giant bouncy houses. Needless to say, I was so tempted to get inside that thing and start jumping around like one of the kids. I did refrain from doing so because it would be just my luck I would’ve gotten in there and the whole thing go bust. One of my crazy friends did get in and he did so in an even crazier way. Because of a windy day that particular day everything had to be taken indoors, which was the chapel in this instance, including the bouncy house (deflating it, wrapping it back up, and loading it on the cart for taking inside). Well, in the chapel there is an open upstairs with a balcony that looks out onto the whole downstairs area, and the bouncy house was setup right next to the balcony. The crazy friend was in cahoots with a slightly larger Mexican friend to sneak up the stairs so they could jump from the balcony onto the bouncy house. Yeah, imagine that. The first guy managed to do it without harming himself (or the bouncy house), but he got busted before the second guy could do it. He didn’t get into any trouble, but he could have if he wasn’t cool with the person running things. Anyway, it was fun being a part of it, and nice seeing the dads spending time with their kids. The game I was in charge of was putt putt golf. The kids were all winners no matter what, so the games were just for having fun. I was glad to get assigned that one because it didn’t require much, but there were a couple of kids that did wear me out. They just didn’t wanna stop playing, and of course my job was to keep them entertained, which meant asking if they wanted to keep playing. And then, some of them lil’monsters thought they were playing baseball instead of putt putt golf. I had to duck a couple of times, they were hitting the balls so hard. l had to laugh it off, of course, but in my head I was thinking: ‘if this were one the “Fridays” movies and I was either Craig or Day Day, them kids would’ve been in trouble (laughs), because they knew what they were doing. Somebody would’ve got snatched up (laugh).

We have another Kairos reunion coming up again, which will be September 3rd. Not sure if mom will be able to make this one, but I bet my auntie D. will, if she can help it. We always have the best times at these events. Coincidentally, there’s suppose to be another marathon (only 9 miles this time) for us to participate in on the same day as Kairos from 8am til 10, but I won’t be able to make that one, I’m afraid. It was initially scheduled for Aug 28, but changed for whatever reason. I’m not going to be mad about missing it, that’s for sure. Speaking of running/jogging, I hope the handful of you who do hit the pavement (enjoying it or not), are sticking with it. It’s one of the best things you can be doing for yourselves. Just keep good maintenance over yourselves; take care of your feet, legs, and so on. One of my friends from. out there sent me a book about running, which is turning out to be a good read so far. Good lookin out, SF 🙂

Anyway, lots of birthdays coming up in September, mine included, yes 🙂 I’m normally not a b-day guy when it comes to myself, but I think I would like some b-day love this year 🙂 By that I mean, an online shout out or something that ensures I am being heard out there in the free world. I’ll be turning… ready for it?! -a hard 48, and it’s only ‘hard’ because it’s the 50 end of the spectrum. Still hard to believe I’m up there and that so much of that has been spent living this nightmare. Doesn’t seem real sometimes. The good thing about it all is that I’m here (alive and well) and blessed with a lot, including brighter days to come 🙂 I’m taking claim to that. Same for pro:-* thetic breakthroughs; I’m laying claim to them. For all of you who have had profound breakthroughs in life you know exactly what I mean 🙂 So yeah, I’m embracing my 48 and moving forward with it, holding onto that indomitable sense of hope and faith.

Okay, back to my b-day 🙂 No, I’m just kidding. Oh, before I forget, I wanted to let you know that I will soon be putting some of my artwork up on a site called Etsy, so be looking out for that. I will let you know when it’s finally up. Hope you’ll take a minute to check it out. Until next time, stay blessed out there.

About boden

This site is developed and maintained by the friends and family of Shawn Hawkins in order to publicise his case and win his freedom after more than 20 years in prison. He adds to it as often as he has news, roughly monthly.
This entry was posted in Shawn's blogposts and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

