Dancing with Mom

Me Again,
Just a quick shout to everyone. Hope the summer has been a good one for you all so far. Hasn’t been too bad on this end, but could always be better of course, and I’m sure some of you feel the same. Well, just continue making the most of your respective vacations, BBQ’s, outings, and so on.

This past Saturday we had Kairos and got to enjoy another Kairos picnic, which was a ton of fun. Mom and Aunt Delores came through, and it was so good to see them and get to spend time with them. We missed having my Aunt Doris, who was home recovering from knee surgery. From what I’m told her progress is coming along, thankfully. I send my love to her. As always, we made the most of our day. They had the grill out, cooking hotdogs and hamburgers, and the usual cookout stuff. And guess what y’all, I even danced with my mom to some good ole music 🙂 We praised, worshipped, prayed, and just had an awesome time the whole time through. Needless to say, the time went by way too fast, so it was over before we knew it. It’s never easy to see them leave but we always have such a good time that we’re able part with a sense of peace. By the way, Kairos picture to come, for sharing. Wish we could’ve taken some while out in the garden so I could show off the work we do for a couple of the local food banks, but maybe next time. Mom and Aunt D enjoyed walking through there and seeing all the stuff we’re growing, which is a lot (tons). Hopefully if we have a garden banquet later this year we’ll be able to take pix of our personal plots.

Anyway, in addition to the Kairos event, I have some pending good news regarding my case; the public defender’s office here in Ohio has a “Wrongful Conviction Division” that I applied for some years ago, and was denied after about a year of them reviewing for consideration. Fast forward today and I’m told directly from a high ranking person in the office that the division wants to reopen my case for a second look. No guarantees were given of course, but I am confident they will do a thorough job once they jump in. Not sure when they’re suppose to start, but am hoping soon. I will be certain to keep you all up to date on when they start and what’s going on. Am excited about the possibilities 🙂 Let’s continue to stay prayed up and hopeful about things to come. In the between time, enjoy your respective summers out there, and create some good memories with one another. And in spite of circumstances, I will try doing the same. Carpe diem, my friends! By the way, I like good beer, BBQ, the good smelling stuff, etc so whenever you’re a part of either, be thinking of me one time 🙂 Peace and love, y’all!
-me

About boden

This site is developed and maintained by the friends and family of Shawn Hawkins in order to publicise his case and win his freedom after more than 20 years in prison. He adds to it as often as he has news, roughly monthly.
This entry was posted in Shawn's blogposts and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Dancing with Mom

  1. Anita Baxter says:

    You always be in my prayers. I can’t imagine your plight. But I admire your spirit!

Leave a Reply

