The Marathon Results are in

Hey Everyone,

Yes, I have survived the marathon, and intact I might add πŸ™‚ Having said that, though, didn’t come out of it free of any battle scars. Turns out an old knee injury decided to pay this guy a visit around the 18th lap, which I was none too pleased about. Thankfully I did make it through to the end, but I had to do it in every which way that alleviated pain from my right knee, which included jogging backwards, skipping from side to side, hobbling, and so on. Wasn’t sure initially what the problem was because it had never been a problem before while running. Turns out, as much as I kept to the same pre-run routine, I, at the last minute, made one critical error by adding an extra insole in my running shoe; and as seemingly minor as this may have been, it ultimately had a serious effect in the pressure applied to my knee. Like I said, it took 18 laps for it to take effect, but took effect it did. So, for all my runners out there, if you didn’t already know, it’s a bad idea to add extra insoles to running shoes; if anything, just swap them out.

Also, wanted to thank you all for the support and well wishes. I was actually thinking of you while running some of my laps πŸ™‚ If only you all could’ve been out there with me. Yeah right, huh?! (laugh) I can hear some of y’all saying, ‘you were on your own with that one, buddy.’ (laugh). No worry, I managed for all of us πŸ™‚ Next big run is in September, the same month I will be turning 48! believe it or not (not that anyone would notice, seeing as though, I don’t look a day over 28 -smile). I will be out there with a lot of other guys my age and older. We even had the warden running with us this past marathon (he’s a natural runner), and came in second place, I believe. Coolest of guys! Much respect for putting himself among us to partake in the event.

One more piece of news before I exit. Just recently I have had the good fortune of being informed that the Wrongful Conviction Division of the Public Defender’s Office, has agreed to reopen my case. Yes!!! Needless to say, this new development is huuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuge! And while nothing can be promised by them, it is still a very promising and exciting time for me. I’m a firm believer that the best has yet to come. A breakthrough is manifesting. And if what God has done for me already isn’t proof enough of what’s possible, just wait and see how much more abundant the blessings reign πŸ™‚ Where my Believers at?! Smile!

On that note, keep ya boy in heart and mind, and I’ll be doing the same for all my peoples out there. Until next shout, get into some good summer fun for me πŸ™‚ Peace and love to the Circle.

-me
P.S.

For all you BBQ folks out there, count me in, ’cause I love me some BBQ πŸ™‚

About boden

This site is developed and maintained by the friends and family of Shawn Hawkins in order to publicise his case and win his freedom after more than 20 years in prison. He adds to it as often as he has news, roughly monthly.
This entry was posted in Shawn's blogposts and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Marathon Results are in

  1. Hilary says:

    Well done you! I am really impressed! And good on your Warden too! What were the times like, I wonder. Will be writing to you tomorrow. So delighted to hear of that encouraging news about your case. You encourage me so much Shawn, and put my little life into perspective. Talk to you tomorrow πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

