Spending time with family at Summer Kairos

Kairos2015Just a quick drop in. Wanted to share a little bit about the Kairos reunion this past weekend. It was our summer event and even though we’ve been getting nothing but rain, the weather managed to cooperate so that we could enjoy ourselves that day. Very next day, though…RAIN! Imagine that! But the day started around 10:30am with greetings, hugs and brief conversations. Prayer followed, and then Ms. Laverne spoke, and for anyone who knows Ms. Laverne, you know she got some go on the talk side (laugh); she didn’t disappoint either. There were audience testimonials, which of course were emotionally moving in their own way. Even my mom stood up for sharing a little of what was on her heart. For a minute there I thought she was never going to stop (laugh). She did, though, thankfully, and I gave her a big squeeze afterwards 🙂

After that there was another prayer, and needless to say, the space we occupied (collectively) was highly charged on the positive side because it was all love up in there. So much so, I was unexpectedly recruited to catch an elderly gentleman in attendance whom Ms. Laverne found herself laying hands on right after we finished praying and were on our way outside to the garden area. Needless to say, that being my first time ever being a part of someone having hands laid on them, my eyes grew big. I had to look around to make sure she wasn’t talking to someone else for helping her (laugh). I’ve always seen this done on TV, and frowned on it because I’m never convinced (and still not convinced) its genuine, but I understand it’s about a person’s personal experience and a whole lot goes into that. But anyway, there I was, wide-eyed, standing behind this elderly gentleman while I helped in facilitating what could be considered a spiritual experience for him. The corrections officer, not knowing what was happening, came running over, and there I was having this outside guest in my clutches, so you can imagine what that must’ve looked like initially (laugh). Thankfully, Ms. Laverne was quick to explain the situation, and that she was more than qualified to be laying hands on folks and causing a spiritual experience in them. It helped that this particular c/o was a Christian himself and familiar with the whole process. The man laid there for a good 5 minutes. Forgot to mention that his loving wife was standing there looking almost terrified while all this was taking place, hoping, I’m sure, that this stranger (me) wasn’t going to drop her husband, which put even more pressure on me (laugh). I have to say, that as unexpected and different as the moment was, I’m glad I could be a part of this man experiencing what he did.

It was time for eating after that; seems I worked up an appetite 🙂 Lunch wasn’t quite ready at the time, though, so we all just grabbed a table and/or mingled, catching up with previously made friends and our invited family members. I can’t tell you how many squeezes I got that day but that was a workout in itself (laugh).

We also were allowed to take our guest out to the actual garden area to show off all the work we’ve done out there. This was especially good for me because my Uncle Kirk who lives out west and sends me seeds, teases me about not believing I’m in a garden program and wants proof of it. So how much more proof did I need than having the opportunity to walk my Mom and Aunt Delores (who he talks to almost daily) through it. Needless to say, when I call him to tell him of my proof he still insist I’m not having a garden (laugh). Am gonna have to get pix, I see, or have a big box of produce delivered (laugh). Anyway, Mom and Auntie loved it and were very proud of ya boy 🙂 Needless to say, I acted as if I really knew what I was talking about as a gardener, when actually I’m just a rookie at it 🙂 But anyway, we spent the rest of our time enjoying one another’s compamy. It was sorta kinda like a summer picnic/retreat.

We eventually made our way back into the chapel where we closed with two of our Kairos songs. We all lined up around the chapel wall and held hands. Some would think it was/is a little campfire(ish), but it was cool. Apparently Mom was overwhelmed by it all and went into Mom tears. I put my arm around her for comfort and we ended with our goodbyes which is always bittersweet. I got me some more squeezes and all was well (smile). Our next reunion will be held on September 12 (my birthday -smile). Until then, it’s back to our usual respective routines.

I hope you all have been enjoying your summer break out there. Next year I’m expecting an invite to some bbqs out there:-) For now, be good and be blessed. Will have pix from the event up shortly.

-Me

About boden

This site is developed and maintained by the friends and family of Shawn Hawkins in order to publicise his case and win his freedom after more than 20 years in prison. He adds to it as often as he has news, roughly monthly.
This entry was posted in Shawn's blogposts and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

