Disappointing news, but the fight goes on!

To my blog family,

Yes, it has been a while since my last blog to you all; but only because there has been nothing of significance to report — all has remained the same since last time. I have just been keeping busy as ever. Unfortunately everyday pretty much looks and feels the same in here. It leaves much to be desired, this life I live, I’m afraid.

Anyway, it is with much regret and sadness, that I come to you with the news that my application for clemency has been rejected by the parole board just recently. At best, their reasoning for it was vague and elusive, which has only added to the immense frustration and disappointment that I feel. I wish that I could have had better news to share with you all, given all the hard work that has been poured into this quest for my freedom. I can’t even begin to explain to you either just how much it means to me; the amount of support I have received from you all out there. It has truly made a huge difference in my life; so much so, that thanking you could never be enough. Even still, I want you to know I appreciate you all deeply for lending me that much needed support.

As for this disheartening news of the Parole board’s rejection, like any of the other times I’ve been confronted by rejection or some form of denial of appeal, I’m dusting myself off for another round of fighting.  It just so happens, the clemency procedure is a two part process, and right now we are having the opportunity to act and express our concerns to the Governor himself and by all means I would like to take every advantage of this while we can.

What this entails, and what I need from all my supporters, is to bombard the Governor’s office with emails and phone calls –expressing disapproval of the parole board’s decision, and also a request that the Governor overrule their recommendation and grant clemency in my case. It’s that simple! And if you are from Ohio, remind the Governor that you are a constituent. I need the entire community of support in on this, and it needs to be as soon as possible because time is of the essence. We cannot wait to act. Keep emailing and calling as many times as possible. I would love for this to be an orchestrated campaign for maximizing the effectiveness of it all, but even without this effort being organized, I feel that we can still make an impact. So please, I need you all to take to the phones and emails for expressing your concerns to the Governor. This battle can only be won through diligence and unified effort. the proof of this is in how far we have come already. We cannot stop now.

http://governor.ohio.gov/Contact/ContacttheGovernor.aspx

Governor John Kasich
Riffe Center, 30th Floor
77 South High Street
Columbus, OH 43215-6117
Phone: (614) 466-3555

Once again, I thank each and every one of you for all your love, concern and support. I will keep you abreast of what happens with this email/phone campaign. Be sure to pass this on to everyone you know and get them involved. We need as many people as possible involved. Let’s go!

A beautiful struggle,

Me

Suggested points for inclusion in any email or phone call you may make to the Governor’s office are below, but please also personalise the text with your own views about Shawn and his continued struggle:

 

Shawn Hawkins has currently served over 25 years in prison most of it on death row. The case against him was weak at best. It included testimony from a jail house snitch, testimony from a co- conspirator who is an admitted liar, a fingerprint that was tainted, and a robbery conviction with no evidence. As Governor you graciously commuted Shawn’s death sentence. Shawn has used his time in general population to work, study, and improve his relationships with his loved ones and friends. Many people have offered him a place to live while others have offered him employment. Because we believe in his innocence, we ask you, most respectfully, to commute Shawn Hawkins’ sentence once again. It is our hope that he be released due to the lengthy sentence he has served.

 

 

 

About boden

This site is developed and maintained by the friends and family of Shawn Hawkins in order to publicise his case and win his freedom after more than 20 years in prison. He adds to it as often as he has news, roughly monthly.
This entry was posted in Shawn's blogposts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

