Settling in at Marion CI

Finally, a chance to say hello again and give you all a quick update, how has everyone been doing since the holidays? Taking good care out there, I hope. It’s crazy how fast the time is moving, as January was just a blur it seems. Has anyone seen January anywhere because I don’t know where it has gone.

Anyway, to get you up to speed, I am finally here at Marion CI, as of Tuesday 21st January. I arrived without incident, thankfully, and I say thankfully because I was transferred on a bad weather day. It took a little longer for the transport, but better to be safe than sorry. Overall it wasn’t so bad, minus the lack of heat on the bus. Well, upon arriving it was nothing like I was lead to believe, which was disappointing to say the least. Needless to say, it was a miserable day. Not to worry, though, because the feeling was short-lived. The next day I was feeling better about things, thanks to an indestructible positive attitude 🙂 the distractions of all the negatives and downsides tried derail me from the bigger picture, but I’m an old vet at this sort of thing 🙂

 I’m here to benefit from the programs and whatever “hidden treasures” that may come about. They have a ton of programs to plug into. I wish I could give you a list of them, but it would take forever and a day. Trust me, though, the programs are abundant, and I plan to take full advantage of this. Hopefully in a couple months time I will have some certificates under my belt. Will be working towards some trades as well. I have no doubt I will benefit from this new chapter of my life that I’m embarking on. Will just go with the flow and make the most of it all.

Anyway, thank you all for your thoughts and prayers. In spite of everything I don’t feel so lonely in this god forsaken place, knowing that I’m having the kind of support that I do. It helps more than you know to get me through the day.

Also, wanted to share, I’ve met some old friends here who were also fortunate enough to make it off the row. It’s been good to see them and catch up a little. Hopefully more will find their way out of there before long. Keep these guys in your prayers, please. I believe prayer is a powerful tool in our arsenal, and it’s important that we utilize this to our advantage.

And yes, I’m counting on all the prayer warriors to do your thing when I file my clemency, because it’s a battle that we can and will win. We have what’s right on our side to make it happen. The petition is coming next, so let’s get ready to turn it up. Please pass the word and encourage everyone possible to get onboard, because this certainly a way to have your voices heard. Social media and today’s technology is an incredible way to make things happen, so let’s maximize what’s at our disposal.

Well, I have to get back to the realities of this place, and will leave you to your day. As always, I wish you all the best in your every day and hope that the new year will be full of what you need and want. And please, please, please, enjoy the seemingly small things in your life as much as possible. I will see you, my blog family, in just a little bit. Until next time…! -Me

About boden

This site is developed and maintained by the friends and family of Shawn Hawkins in order to publicise his case and win his freedom after more than 20 years in prison. He adds to it as often as he has news, roughly monthly.
This entry was posted in Shawn's blogposts and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Settling in at Marion CI

  1. Hilary says:

    It is so great to hear you are now settling in in your new home! Your positive attitude to everything is a real tonic! In Ireland 1 February is considered the first day of Spring, the Feast Day of St Bridget – it does not seem like that weather wise, but it is always a time of hope and new beginnings and it seems just right that your blog message should reach me today! Thoughts and prayers are always winging their way to you.
    Hilary 🙂

    • boden says:

      Thank you Hilary. I’ve just realised that this is a significant day for Shawn – exactly 24 years incarcerated, or 8,760 days. Here’s hoping St Bridget’s day enables him to look forward too and plan for new beginnings.

  2. Ivette says:

    I’m proud of you. Your strength is amazing and inspiring.

Leave a Reply

