November update – still waiting at WCI!

MY BLOG PEOPLES, IT’S ME AGAIN! STILL HERE AT WCI AWAITING MY TRANSFER TO MARION. THANKFULLY I’M WELL PRACTISED IN THE ART OF PATIENCE, OTHERWISE I’D BE PULLING MY HAIR OUT. OH WAIT! JUST REMEMBERED I’M NOT REALLY EVEN HAVING ANY HAIR. I’M TOLD BY A RELIABLE SOURCE RECENTLY THAT IT SHOULD BE SOON THAT THEY’LL BE MOVING GUYS AGAIN, SO LET’S HOPE DECEMBER IS THE MONTH. FOR NOW, I’M STEADILY KEEPING BUSY AS MUCH AS POSSIBLE.

 IN NOVEMBER, THERE WAS ANOTHER KAIROS EVENT (THE 2ND OF THE YEAR). I WAS A MEMBER OF THE ONE HELD IN JUNE , WHICH WAS KAIROS #10. I ENJOYED THE EXPERIENCE AFTER HAVING HEARD ABOUT IT SINCE MY ARRIVAL HERE IN JUNE 2011. IT WAS NO RELIGIOUS EXPERIENCE AS FAR AS I’M CONCERNED, WHICH WAS OKAY BY ME, BUT MORESO AN ACT OF FELLOWSHIP. I HAVE TO SAY, THOUGH, FOR ME, PERSONALLY, I FOUND IT RATHER INTERESTING THAT I WAS NOMINATED FOR THE KAIROS EXPERIENCE AT A RATHER SIGNIFICANT TIME OF YEAR. YOU SEE, THE KAIROS I PARTICIPATED IN FELL ON JUNE 8TH WEEKEND, WHICH INCIDENTALLY (OR COINCIDENTALLY) WAS THE DAY I RECEIVED MY CLEMENCY ON 2 YEARS EARLIER. NOT REALLY SURE WHAT TO MAKE OF THAT OTHER THAN TO EMBRACE IT AS A SPIRITUAL MOMENT OF SORTS; ONE WELL RECEIVED. AND NOT TO GET ALL DEEP ON YOU OUT THERE, BUT IF OUR BLESSINGS AND EXPERIENCES ARE DERIVED OUT OF THE INTERACTIONS WITH ONE ANOTHER, THEN SURELY GOD WHISPERED TO MY SOUL ON THAT WEEKEND, AS IF TO REMIND ME, HIS PRESENCE WAS & IS STILL ALIVE AND WELL IN MY LIFE. I SUSPECT THIS WILL ALWAYS BE THE CASE, ESPECIALLY SINCE I’M MORE THAN OPEN TO THE EXPERIENCE OF GOD IN ANY WAY HE CHOOSES TO MAKE HIMSELF MANIFEST. BY THE WAY THEY SERVED REALLY GOOD FOOD, TOO, AND I ATE MYSELF SILLY (I’M A FOODIE -SMILE).

 THIS SECOND KAIROS I PARTICIPATED IN THIS PAST MONTH WAS AS A SERVER. I HUMBLY HAD THE OPPORTUNITY TO SERVE AND ATTEND TO A NEW BUNCH OF KAIROS BROTHERS, WHICH WAS A GOOD EXPERIENCE IN ITSELF. I’M ONE TO BELIEVE THAT ACTS OF SERVICE IS WHERE TRUTHS ABOUT OURSELVES ARE REVEALED. SELFLESSNESS IS THE PATH TO OUR HIGHER SELVES, I HAVE LEARNED, AND SO I STRIVE TO BE THAT PERPETUAL STUDENT OF HIGHER GROUND.

 IN ADDITION TO PARTICIPATING IN KAIROS ON BOTH SIDES OF IT, I WAS ASKED TO PERFORM IN A PLAY THIS PAST WEEKEND CALLED, “A CHANGE IS GONNA COME,” WRITTEN BY AN INMATE (PAT STOKES). THE ENTIRE CAST WERE INMATES AND IT WAS A TOTAL SUCCESS ON ALL FRONTS. THE PLAY WAS ABOUT A YOUNG MAN WHO WAS FORCED TO MAKE A CHANGE IN HIS LIFE AS A RESULT OF BECOMING A FATHER. HE WAS TORN BETWEEN HANGING IN THE STREETS WITH HIS FRIENDS, ROBBING AND SELLING DRUGS, OR RAISING HIS NEWBORN SON AND BEING RESPONSIBLE. HE CHOSE THE LATTER, WHILE HIS FRIENDS STAYED IN THE STREETS -THE RESULTS OF WHICH LED TO ONE OF HIS FRIENDS BEING MURDERED AND THE OTHER INCARCERATED. I PLAYED THE PASTOR WHO EULOGIZED THE VICTIM. AGAIN, IT WAS A WELL-WRITTEN, WELL- PERFORMED PRODUCTION; FILLED WITH ALOT OF HUMOR AND BALANCED WITH A SERIOUS MESSAGE.

ANYWAY, OUTSIDE ALL OF THAT, I’M GETTING PREPARED FOR MY CLEMENCY. I HOPE TO HAVE EVERYTHING READYTO GO BY APRIL OR MAY. I KNOW I SAID THAT THE PETITION SITE WOULD BE UP SOON, AND BY THE END OF NEXT MONTH IT SHOULD BE READY FOR SIGNATURES. WE WON’T HAVE ALOT OF TIME TO WORK WITH, SO I NEED YOU ALL TO TURN IT UP FOR ME AND PUSH THE SIGNATURES FOR ME HARD. WITH TECHNOLOGY BEING WHAT IT IS TODAY, WE CAN DO THIS. WE CAN GET THE NUMBERS UP IN A BIG WAY. AND AS WE ALL KNOW FROM THE SUCCESS OF MY LAST CLEMENCY, EVERY EFFORT COUNTS. SO IF AT ALL POSSIBLE, PLEASE ADD ME TO YOUR PRIORTY LIST IN THESE NEXT FEW MONTHS WHERE THIS IS COCNERNED. AND NEEDLESS TO SAY, I VALUE AND APPRECIATE ALL THE PRAYERS AND SUPPORT

LASTLY, IF THIS IS COMING TO YOU AFTER THE THANKSGIVING HLIDAY, I HOPE THAT YOU HAVE ENJOYED A SAFE ONE; FILLED WITH FAMILY, FRIENDS, AND LOTS OF GOOD FOOD. AND IF THIS REACHES YOU BEFORE THANKSGIVING, I WISH THE SAME. BE SAFE OUT THERE IF YOU’RE TRAVELLING, AND BE MINDFUL OF ALL THE WONDERFUL THINGS WE HAVE IN OUR LIVES TO BE THANKFUL FOR. ON THAT NOTE, TAKE CARE OUT THERE AND GOD BLESS. WILL BE BACK ONLINE SOON. TILL THEN…..!

About boden

This site is developed and maintained by the friends and family of Shawn Hawkins in order to publicise his case and win his freedom after more than 20 years in prison. He adds to it as often as he has news, roughly monthly.
This entry was posted in Shawn's blogposts and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to November update – still waiting at WCI!

  1. Ivette says:

    You are on my priority list, yes. We will and can do it, again!

  2. Hilary says:

    You are an inspiration, Shawn! We are all here for you!

Leave a Reply

