18/10/13

Hello out there!  I know it has been a while since my last communication with you but despite life moving slowly for me, I’ve been keeping myself busy with a lot, including preparing for my move to Marion Correctional Facility.  For those who aren’t aware, my security level has been lowered as of June this year, which permits me to take up residence in a less restrictive environment and enjoy the fruits of more meaningful opportunities.  Needless to say, I’m looking forward to turning the page and starting a new chapter in my life.  It is my hope that it will unfold and read like a well written, inspiring piece of literature.  Of course, though, reality is always insistent on having its say, in which case I’m prepared for that also.

That being said, I am happy to share I have not long ago celebrated my 45th birthday, which for me is amazing.  The last three of those were post death row, which is even more amazing considering there was a time when I thought I’d never see past 42!  Here I am now, having celebrated three years outside of that nightmare.  By the way, I want to thank everyone who helped to celebrate my day, sending good wishes and cards.  It means more than you know to have the kind of support that I have from you all – including those who remain anonymous for your own reasons.

If you don’t mind, I’d like to do something I neglected to do in previous blogs and give a shout to all my friends and comrades who are still enduring the daily rigors of life on death row.  Although I am one of the few fortunate enough to escape the deadly grip of Ohio’s death machine, I remain forever connected to some of those guys and, not to mention, the experience in itself.  The relationships we built are, in part at least, what helped to sustain us/me through some of the rough times and because of this I feel a piece of me will always be tied to them and what they’re still experiencing, so this is me, forever scarred, yet in the midst of my healing process, shouting out my guys to the world.  If you will, please also keep these guys in your thoughts and prayers.

Well, I will be putting a petition up soon for procuring signatures in support of requesting another clemency from the Governor.  Last time we had a really good showing of support – locally, nationally and internationally.  It was amazing to see all the signatures and comments that were put on the petition site.  I was truly moved by the power and compassion of it all.

It is my sincere hope that we can, with that same sense of power and compassionate effort, recreate that success and double, if not triple, the number of signatures for advocating clemency again.  I need everyone who is willing and able to keep checking the site for the petition details and sign, sign, sign; have everyone you know sign and pass the word on.  As I expressed a couple of years ago when we were fighting for my life, as a team there’s nothing we can’t accomplish or conquer.  Remember, an individual act is really a collective effort in this matter.  There are some who may feel that nothing they can do as an individual towards a cause may help, but I can assure you that a single act, a single effort can work miracles; and when many single acts work together in concert the sky is the limit!  Let any of your doubts about the importance of what you have to offer be instead infused more with a sense of knowing that what you do as an individual is important and does matter.  Allow me to close with this: a thing or a person worth supporting can never make your role in its potential betterment unimportant.  The truth is you’re a real part of something worth supporting, no matter how seemingly insignificant the task.

I will be back with you soon, my friends, to keep you abreast of what’s going on with me.  Hopefully the next time I post something I will be at the new facility.  Either way, until next time, continue taking care out there and remember believe in love, peace, joy and happiness ……. and yes, justice!

About boden

This site is developed and maintained by the friends and family of Shawn Hawkins in order to publicise his case and win his freedom after more than 20 years in prison. He adds to it as often as he has news, roughly monthly.
This entry was posted in Shawn's blogposts. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to 18/10/13

  1. Ivette says:

    We keep on working!

  2. Anita L. Martin says:

    Shawn,
    I was hoping that you would have moved by now. However you are in my prayers and thoughts.
    I see you as a miracle that I have had the honor the witness. I find joy in every step you make.
    There is no way possible that I can image your life. But I know the Holy Spirit is with you!!
    I wish you enough sun to keep your attitude bright no matter how gray the day may appear.
    I wish you enough rain to appreciate the sun even more.
    I wish you enough happiness to keep your spirit alive and everlasting.
    I wish you enough pain so that even the smallest of joys in life may appear bigger.
    I wish you enough gain to satisfy your wanting.
    I wish you enough loss to appreciate all that you possess.
    I wish you enough hellos to get you through the final good-bye.
    They say it takes a minute to find a special person, an hour to appreciate
    them, a day to love them; but then an entire life to forget them.
    TAKE TIME TO LIVE…. because I never want to forget anything about you. You are a person
    that God has blessed in many ways. Ways that not everyone may come to know. Yet, you have
    been picked by God, and your life is a living lesson to us all. Please continue to teach and share
    your life experiences in the way only you can do. Remember, God has a purpose for us all, and
    from your past I know the best is yet to come. One more thing, HAPPY BELATED BIRTHDAY!! : )
    I will continue to pray for the blessings in your life and your family!

  3. Gigi says:

    Shawn, I find myself moved beyond words after I read your blog. It is encouraging on many levels as I proceed through the ends and outs of my days. You are an inspiration. I have come to realize that God has an ultimate plan for us all. As we are presented with what we may consider hardships and obstacles in life, it is my belief they are intentional. God has a way of putting us where we need to be for a much more divine purpose. It is our job to take it in, understand it and do our best work to benefit from incidences that may cause us discomfort and pain. I pray and visualize the day when you may walk freely once again….and during my quiet hour of prayer it constantly occurs to me how blessed I am, the importance of compassion, patience and most important the necessity and beauty of my faith. Thank you Shawn for writing to us on the ‘outside’….and reminding us how blessed we are as one race. May God continue to bless you.

Leave a Reply

