15/07/13

My Blog Supporters,
I’m sitting here at the library at the moment, burning up in this heat – no air conditioning, only the limited function of two wall fans. Thankfully I only have an hour before it’s quitting time and I can go back to the block where it’s much cooler.
Well, I just wanted to send out a brief update regarding what’s going on with me. I found out recently that my security level (which was ‘closed security’) is now officially lowered to ‘medium’ status. This, in effect, means I am authorized to be transferred to a medium level facility, where there’s less restriction and more to offer in terms of programs and privileges.
I have requested to be moved to Marion Correctional Institution, which is approximately 150 miles from Cincy, give or take. I am anxious and excited about making the move up there and having access to all the medium status privileges. Needless to say, it has been an extremely long and exhausting journey over the past 23 years – 21 of those on death row – so it’s a much welcome move forward in my life.; a move that is propelling me out of a world once filled with darkness into a brighter future where I feel I belong. I’m definitely moving in the right direction and finding myself closer to finally going home. Of course, though, there’s still lots of work to be done and I am giving it my all. I have written to lawyers, media outlets, the Innocence Project (who for a time worked on my case), the Centurion Ministries group, who are similar in nature to the Innocence Project). I’ve also written to the Governor, the Attorney General, politicians, you name it; as well as maintaining an excellent prison record, so I’m doing as much as I can from the limited position that I find myself in.
Now that I have accomplished getting my security level lowered, I have no doubt that I am doing all the right things and moving in the right direction. We just have to keep forging ahead and not stop until the goal of my freedom is achieved. I can’t explain this feeling inside me either, but I can honestly feel that we’re close to making it happen. As always, I need your support out there because I can’t do it alone. I do want to apologize for not having the banking info up yet, for those who are only able to donate funds. We are still working on that and hopefully that will be available soon. As I always say, every little bit helps, be it financial support, writing letters to the Governor, local politicians, signing a petition, sending words of encouragement, getting in touch with influential people on my behalf, etc. It all makes a tremendous difference in how far we move this mountain standing in the way. So, be mindful of the fact that a little goes a long way. It’s always a collective effort, my friends.
Okay, I have to wrap up now, I will be back before long. As always, stay blessed out there and take care. A beautiful struggle ……

About boden

This site is developed and maintained by the friends and family of Shawn Hawkins in order to publicise his case and win his freedom after more than 20 years in prison. He adds to it as often as he has news, roughly monthly.
This entry was posted in Shawn's blogposts. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 15/07/13

  1. Anita L. Martin says:

    Shawn, I am so glad that you have been blessed with the mind set that you have. It’s needless on my part, however I’ll say it anyway. Often the wrong person goes to jail and the real criminals are out here still doing crimes. Case in point the Trayvon Martin and George Zimmerman case. I pray that you get out of there SOON! I’m happy to hear that you are making some progress. I believe that you will be freed. I just wish it were today. Do you have any plans of what you are going to do when you get your freedom? I realize this is a very slow process, please get hope alive. I think you are a remarkable person. I feel that you are in God’s favor. It’s just hard to wait on God sometimes.
    But you have bared witness that God is not only in your life, but He is protecting you. Keep the faith Shawn! God loves you and He will set you free!!!! You’re in my prayers.

    Anita B

Leave a Reply

