29/05/13

Blog Nation,

Since my last shout, there has been very little going on with my case, unfortunately.  I’m still working on something to possibly file in the court at some point.  You’ll have to wish me luck with this legal action as my options are painfully limited.  If there are any good attorneys out there who have any ideas, are willing to fight for an innocent man and are looking for a challenge, please get in touch with me at your earliest convenience.

No doubt, the mountain ahead is unquestionably a formidable one, but if there’s one thing I have learned over the years it’s that mountains were meant to be conquered; and with God on your side there’s nothing impossible in this world.  I have survived the perils of death row all of these years because of this belief and the unbelievable support of those who championed my cause (family, friends and strangers alike).  Nothing has changed about this either, and I’m up for the battle, what about you?

In addition to hoping to get something filed in the court, I also plan to file for another clemency appeal.  I go up for my security review next month (June) and if all goes well I will be afforded the opportunity to drop down to a medium status (at present I’m closed security).  Once this is accomplished I will then pursue clemency options.  I’m going to need you all to take a moment or two out of your time for me and do the following things: sign the online petition that we’ll be putting up, send emails and letters to local politicians so that we can get them involved if possible, and when the time is right, to send emails and letters to the parole board and Governor’s office (I will let you know when this right time is).  I especially need my Ohio supporters to step up big time for me – remember there is power in numbers, and more importantly, your constituency votes count for something.  Let your voices be heard on this matter and I promise you we can move this mountain.  Don’t think for one second that as individuals you have no say or power to make a difference, because you do.  Spread the word so we can bring about some much needed momentum.  On this end I will be working my butt off, trying to get things done.

I will be back with you to keep you abreast of what’s going on.  Remember, if you have any questions, concerns or suggestions, please do not hesitate to communicate it and I will get a response back to you as soon as possible.  Just so you know I am receiving your responses, I’d like to give a quick shout out to Anita Martin, Hilary Hughes, Hilary Christie, Ivette Abelman, Swithin Fry and Amanda.  Thank you for making your voices heard and the much welcomed support put forth.  It’s important to remember in life that a little goes a long way.  Thank you once again for your concern and involvement in this matter.

About boden

This site is developed and maintained by the friends and family of Shawn Hawkins in order to publicise his case and win his freedom after more than 20 years in prison. He adds to it as often as he has news, roughly monthly.
This entry was posted in Shawn's blogposts. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 29/05/13

  1. Hilary Hughes says:

    Hey Shawn, you know we are all here for you. I am sure that things will take off when the time is right. Stay strong, and best of luck for June.
    Hilary 🙂
    (Hughes!)

  2. Anita L. Martin says:

    Shawn I know that you don’t know me, however that’s ok. I have followed your case for a while now. I went to one of your hearings in support of you. In my opinion, you do not belong there. I will
    support your getting out of the terrible place. Who knows maybe we will meet one day : ). Sometimes it’s hard to understand the cards that we are dealt in this life. I’m so glad that you haven’t given up. Your blessing is coming. Keep your faith in God, please never lose it. It sustains us all. I don’t know why you choose me as one of your people to thank, but I thank you for it. You have made my day! : ) Just remember, it may seem like you are in this fight alone, but you’re not.
    Remember, God is the answer to all things and you Will be Free!!!!!

Leave a Reply

