24/04/13

To all my supporters,
It’s that time again! Time to gear up for another fight. I am in need of your love, support and energy once more. After a successful effort to save my life and get off death row almost two years ago, it’s time to engage in the next battle that lies ahead; the battle for my physical freedom once and for all.
In the time since being removed from the pit of death row in 2011, I have given myself to the process of acclimating into this new world of general population where I find life to be all-consuming and exhausting on so many levels. It has been undoubtedly a night versus day experience compared to the isolating, vacuous confines of death row ‘life’ where every day was like a nightmare version of the movie ‘Groundhog Day’. Even so, I have managed to keep myself busy in both worlds in spite of the daily challenges presented.
Having made what I like to believe is a successful transition from a world of the dark (death row) to one of burgeoning light, I am now ready to make this next push for my freedom. The experience of being on death row was a difficult and painful ordeal; one that I never could have survived without the love and support and family, friends and strangers alike. Now that I’m free from that oppressive nightmare, I’m having a renewed spirit of fight within me. Like the last battle though, I can’t do it on my own; I need that same network and spirit of support that you so graciously provided for me last time.
I’m often reminded of the real-life story of Rubin ‘Hurricane’ Carter (google his story) and the part in the movie where he was in a holding cell having a conversation with a young supporter who was instrumental in helping him get back into court. He explained how hate may have been responsible for putting him in prison for all those years, but how love was going to bust him out. At the time of that moving scene in the movie, a group of compassionate, resilient supporters (encouraged by the young supporter) had tirelessly fought to free him. In sure Hollywood fashion, there was a dramatic courtroom scene that culminates with Carter being granted his freedom after 20 years of being wrongfully convicted. I mention this because I have spent many a night playing this same scene out in my own case, and because of all the love and support in my life, I have no doubt that the day will come when I finally get the opportunity to walk out of prison a free man as well.
In order for this to be accomplished, however, we need to operate on all cylinders moving forward and to be sure, if we were able to overcome that proverbial mountain that death penalty represented in my life, then surely nothing can stop us from achieving this final goal. So let’s do this and get another victory to cheer about. In whatever capacity you can best support the cause, please show up. There’s a list elsewhere on this website of possible ways to contribute, but should you think of anything else, please take liberties and communicate this on the site. Remember, this is a team effort, so it’s important that we work together and maximize our forces. And let me say, for the record, that I consider all the efforts of my supporters equally valuable. So no matter how big or small your contribution to the effort is, it makes a difference.
You can keep up with me on my blog or via Twitter @Justice4Shawn and I look forward to hearing from you and working with you all. Till next communication……..
Me.

About boden

This site is developed and maintained by the friends and family of Shawn Hawkins in order to publicise his case and win his freedom after more than 20 years in prison. He adds to it as often as he has news, roughly monthly.
This entry was posted in Shawn's blogposts and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

